Skip to content

Thanksgiving Essay:50 years ago and now

November 28, 2010

Thanksgiving morning 7 o’clock, 1960, or so: I awaken to the aroma of roasting turkey wafting up to my attic bedroom. My mother, Jeanette, started her Thanksgivings very early. Just maybe, there’s a bit of turkey to sample, maybe the crisp tip of a wing ready to pilfer while the chef (momentarily) leaves the kitchen.

Author caught reliving a Thanksgiving moment from his youth

A Confession: while for my mother Thanksgiving was about cooking, for my father and three brothers it was about eating and of course football. For context know that our home was located on Chestnut Street directly across from Simpson Field – the athletic field and football stadium for Roselle High (Abraham Clark High School). It’s now called Ralph Arminio field after the Roselle’s great basketball coach during the the 50’s and 60’s. [1] (See end note for more information.)

Every other year “Simpson” was the site of the traditional Thanksgiving morning grid classic between Roselle and arch rival Roselle, Park. As we ate breakfast (sadly not turkey) we could hear the drums, horns, tubas as the band warmed up for the big game. If my memory serves me (and is not too selective) we (the Rams) usually beat Park (the Panthers). In my senior year (1961) we beat Roselle Park 26-0. Last year the Rams aced the Panthers once more (35-0) and unbelievably the Roselle beat Park by the same score (35-0) this Thanksgiving. [2]

At the end of the big game we rushed home lusting at the prospect of roast turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, chopped liver, and an assortment of pies. We rushed into the house, and inhaled the mouthwatering aromas – “when will it be ready.”

There was, however, another reason for wanting to eat soon – we wanted to finish eating in time to see football games on TV Detroit Lions vs. Green Bay Packers. After several years we had the timing down – dessert at half-time or between games. Mom, Sorry; tell me, you were thankful anyway. See response by mother, Jeanette Malinow, in the comments section.

The dining room table: As I look back I am very thankful for my parents. They loved us boys and cared for us well. They made a good table for us – nourishing and a place of great humor and learning. My father, Archie, in those days was the editor of a large number of union news letters – containing news about the latest negotiations between IUE-AFL-CIO and GE or Westinghouse and photo after photo of local union officials and members – once in a while an action photo of a picket line.

Those newsletters were not collated on a big machine. They were assembled around our dining room table by the brothers and whatever friends we could recruit from the Simpson Field basketball court across the street. The pages were assembled in order around the table and all of us would walk clockwise around the table picking up and collating as we walked; in one corner there was a big carton where we stashed the copies. Of course it was fun and there was often a payoff at the end (something good to eat or some spending money).

My parents were both actively engaged in movements for social and economic justice. We talked and debated politics; the dining room table was a great forum.

Those were good times: I can distinctly remember that our family’s economic lot was improving – at the start of my freshman year (1957) we moved into our own house after years of living in an apartment far two cramped for the six of us. We had our own rooms, a big backyard, a gold fish pond, and a wild male beagle, Dewy.

JFK: "My fellow Americans, ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country."

John F. Kennedy was in the White House.  My little office had a picture of our leader and a small American flag. True, I didn’t spend a whole lot of Thanksgiving “being thankful” but somewhere inside, I knew that things were good. America was on the rise. 

However, John Kennedy was assassinated on November 22, 1963, 1000 days into his first term and just before Thanksgiving. Perhaps this was a kind of turning point for America. Soon we would be sending hundreds of thousands of youth to Vietnam — many like the Ram footballer Sylvester Land (see notes below) never returned.

___

Fifty Years Later: We now live in a very different America. The middle class is shrinking, unemployment hovers near the 10 percent level. More than two-million additional Americans will run out of unemployment benefits tomorrow unless Republican members of Congress reverse their opposition to an extension. RealtyTrac reported a record number of foreclosure filings (nearly one million) in the third quarter of 2010. As we start the Holiday Season, record numbers of people are showing up at food pantries. All while the wealthy continue to reap wealth.

Unemployment line; Source: Discovery News

I recently gave a guest lecture at the University of Wisconsin-Parkside, my faculty “alma mater.” At the very start of the class, I polled the students to determine their thoughts about their economic future. When I asked for a show of hands for those having confidence in their future, not one of the 50 or so students raised their hands. When I asked whether they were fearful, every student raised a hand.

This Thanksgiving: As usual my wife, son Lou and I traveled up to Connecticut and New Jersey to spend the holiday weekend with our families. Genya (Yevgeniy) our older son is doing his Peace Corps stint in Armenia. We visited my mother, all three of my brothers and their families, and Claudia’s extended family. I am very thankful for our huge and growing families; no one is on an unemployment line or threatened with foreclosure. I am thankful for the rural Maryland community in which we live – a community is growing closer as a result of our new farm and food market (Our Local Bounty). Last Saturday we celebrated the end of the market’s first year with food and drink, music, poetry, and warm companionship.

Last produce of the season at "Our Local Bounty" Farm & Food Market, greens, potatoes, green tomatoes, turnips -- the stuff that lasts.

 

I am thankful for all of this. But I am greatly saddened by the state of our nation — that we have an economy that increasingly fails to provide for the most basic needs of American families. We seem to have lost our way, our ability to work together, our sense of community, the wisdom of our predecessors. My prayer is that we learn to be thankful for what is really precious, family, community and a nation that cares for all of its citizens.

___________________________________________________________________

 

[1] Ralph Arminio: During my senior year we had the Ram hoopsters has an unbelievable 26-0 record and swept both the Watchung Conference and Union County NJ championships. Ralph was a great educator and kind human being.

[2] After all we had some great players including Freddy Porter (All-County end), Tim Kempson, Randy Seppelt, Richard Souels (one of the greatest broken field runners ever) and many others: Jerry McDonald,  Stan Fink, Don Walker, Jimmy Argyros, Willy Nichols, Joe Yopcavage, and who could ever forget Al DePalma (the great doo-wap singer who always had a clever retort). And how about the Ram Grid Iron coaches: Donald Schaffer, Verge Bork, and Harry Morson — not only great coaches but mentors and fine human beings.

One of the Rams players was Sylvester Land, a spirited classmate, who died in the Vietnam war. Just before Thanksgiving, a new and beautiful field in Roselle in his name will be used for Pop Warner football and other youth sports.

Actually over the long haul Park leads the ancient series: 47-36-8. But, let’s not forget that Roosevelt (Rosey) Grier (all star NY Football Giant and later one of the LA Ram’s fearsome foursome) graduated from Roselle High in 1953. Once in a while he shot hoops with us kids at Simpson Field as part of his summer training.

Robert F. Kennedy Assassination: Rosey was the body ‘s guard of presidential candidate Robert Kennedy’s wife Ethel at a June 1968 campaign event in Los Angeles, CA.  After the shots were fired, Grier subdued Sirhan Sirhan, the assassin. Click for more on Rosey Grier. (Correction: The original post incorrectly stated that Grier was RFK’s body guard).

Rosey Grier, football great, musician, humanitarian, Roselle alumni.

34 Comments leave one →
  1. Michael D. Colford Sr. permalink
    December 27, 2014 7:47 pm

    It was extremely disturbing and heart breaking to read that Rosey Grier,the man that we
    all have idolized for the past sixty plus years has been accused of sexual assault.

    He is now 81 yrs. old and the accusations were made public sometime in the last year.

    Mike Colford Sr. ’57

    • Henry S. Cole, Ph.D. permalink*
      December 28, 2014 12:14 pm

      Michael, thanks for this sad news. I do want to say that a person in our system is innocent until proven guilty. The manager may have
      some ulterior motives for bringing charges against Rosey. Also, nothing can take away from Rosey’s greatness. I am priveleged to
      have met him; he played basketball with us kids across Chestnut Street from our home.
      Best, Hank Cole ’61

    • Steven C. Weiner permalink
      December 29, 2014 1:24 pm

      Hank said it well!……but what he didn\’t say was that in those basketball games at Simpson Field, you could not move the mountain of the man from the pivot….trust me, I know. That’s the Rosey I remember.

      Steve Weiner
      Class of 1961

      • Henry S. Cole, Ph.D. permalink*
        December 29, 2014 1:41 pm

        “Is that you, Weiner?” (Famous line, camping trip middle of night, following the screech of a racoon). Please email me at hcole@hcole-environmental.com, Hank

      • Michael D. Colford Sr. permalink
        December 29, 2014 6:29 pm

        Steven- My sister Maureen P. Colford-Carter was in the graduating class of 1961.

        She passed-away on April 30.2011. Maureen is sadly missed by me and many others.

        Michael D. Colford Sr. ’57

  2. Connie Schaible Marshall permalink
    December 27, 2014 1:53 pm

    Henry- thanks for this lovely piece of writing. I lived south of you on Dennis Street, and walked past your house every day, first to Chestnut School and then (after a gap) to ACHS. I remember going to sell football programs at the games to benefit Honor Society, and the great marching bands we used to have “back in the day.” I remember listening to the Roselle basketball championship game on the radio because I was baby-sitting and how relieved and excited I was when we won. My brothers, Gary and David, both played on athletic teams later on (classes of 66 and 70) for Mr. Arminio and Mr. Schaffer; both were All-State in baseball, and Dave got something in football. My mother was a “Booster Mom” like yours, and there was a lot of running around involved! I didn’t remember the names of the players, but each name brought back a face and a memory. Thanks again, from a fellow worrier-about-the-world, Connie Schaible Marshall ’63

  3. Steve Bork permalink
    March 3, 2013 3:25 pm

    STEVE BORK, class of 1975

    I enjoyed reading the comments to my mom, Beryl, about the memories and people my dad, Virgil Bork , often talked about. Sadly, dad passed away in July, 2008. He had such a sharp memory and could remember every student he coached. My mom and I recognize every person who wrote in because dad talked about everyone (even what they looked like) in his many stories. They were great years in Roselle. He was a great role model and coach. I was fortunate to have him as my dad. We grew up having the Arminios and the Morsons as close friends. Wishing everyone good health.

  4. Bruce Hekking permalink
    November 13, 2011 10:31 pm

    Dear Mr Cole…Just happened to catch your site via Ralph Arminio Field…contact. I played with Rosie Grier during the 1949–1950–1951 seasons. My name is Bruce Hekking…we played two-way football in those days under Head Football Coach Arminio. I played RE next to Rosie at RT..on offense and I was at LB on defense…Rosie was at DT on those teams. We had record of 7 – 2 during those years. Rosie went on to play at Penn State under coach Rip Engle…and then with the NY Giants. My family lived on 535 Wheatsheaf Road in northern Roselle…up near Washington School. I also played on the Baseball and Basketball teams…at one point I held the high scoring mark of 32 points during the 1951-52 basketball season. We had some great teams then..I also played some ball at U of Maryland and with the US Army in Germany…plus some minor league baseball with the Brooklyn Dodger organization. Now in my late 70’s I was very glad to see that the town had honored Coach Arminio…I also played for coaches Don Shaffer(Baseball)…and Virgil Bork.
    Thanks for all your input.
    My email is: Bruchek@aol.com

    • Henry S. Cole, Ph.D. permalink*
      November 13, 2011 10:41 pm

      Bruce, thanks so much. What a fabulous career you’ve had. It is so wonderful to hear from so many alumni. Roselle has such a rich history.

      Best, Hank Cole

  5. Jesse Brooks permalink
    November 12, 2011 5:39 am

    Jesse Brooks (’64)

    Hank, I was very late in reading your blog about Thanksgiving, but as Thanksgiving approaches this year, I can’t believe how great it was to remember “back when”. There is so much history in Roselle. I graduated with your brother Freddy. I played football as well, but didn’t play in my senior year (my biggest regret ever). However, I was a freshman during that ’61 season,, and four of us (Ed Esbrandt, Frank Briggs, Mickey Stradford and me) from the freshman team got moved up at the end of our season to the JayVees. That meant we got to share the locker room with all of the Roselle greats, Richard Souels (Hook), Randy Seppelt, Nichols, Sylvester Land (Vester), Freddy Porter and all the rest. What a crazy locker room that was!
    I lived on the other end of Roselle near St. George’s Ave. I grew up across the street from Richard Souels, his older brother, Bobby Jackson, and his younger brother Alfred. Rosey Grier was a cousin to them and lived further up Rivington St. towards 9th Ave. I would wake up on Saturday mornings to the sound of the drums from Simpson Field. There was nothing like it! Mikey Jenkins, Butch Garufe, Frankie Williams, those are the drummers that I remember that would make your heart dance! I remember the ’61 season. I think we went 7-1-1 that year. I think it was the Cranford game when Eddie (can’t remember his last name at the moment) ran the opening kickoff back for a touchdown (that was called back). And your are right, Hook was the best broken field runner I had ever seen. But Roselle was full of “football families”. You mentioned Donald Walker, but his brother Dennis was another great player at QB. Not to mention, his cousin, James “Butchie” Walker (’58) who went on to become inducted into the Johnson C. Smith University Hall of Fame as a quarterback. We had great running backs, like little Nick (class of ’56 and for the life of me, as well as I know it, I can’t remember his last name either!), George Land (#41), Vester’s older brother, Ackie Boss, Warren Charles, and Mickey Stradford. One of my favorite quarterbacks was Glenn Brantley (’59).

    Thanksgiving Day football in Roselle will always be something to remember for me. It is the smell of turkey with all the fixings, but most of all, it is the smell of home.

    • Henry S. Cole, Ph.D. permalink*
      November 12, 2011 9:37 am

      Jessie, thanks for adding to our collective history. The names bring back memories as well as the memories themselves.

      Drumming: We lived directly across Chestnut Street from Simpson Field. So I know exactly what you’re talking about — and the excitement of hearing it on a Saturday morning.

      There is something else: sometime toward the end of August, I would wake up to the sound of “1-2, 3-4, hup, hup, 1-2, etc. this was Coach Shaffer or Virg Bork and it meant that football practice for the season was underway. I had mixed feelings — excited about the coming season, but sad that the free-wheeling summer was quickly coming to an end.

      I hope that many others will provide new comments to add more.

      Best, to all of our alumni!

      Hank Cole

    • Steven Weiner permalink
      November 14, 2011 11:39 am

      Jesse,

      It was Nickie Clark! I recall seeing a photo of Clark in (I believe) Rosie Grier’s College All-Star game jersey. It was all jersey and very little Nickie! I still recall my uncle taking me to Rutgers to see them play Penn State in 1953 when Rosie was a junior and an unknown non-starting running back for Penn State named Lennie Moore ran wild! They won 54-26.

      Regards

      • Steven Weiner permalink
        November 14, 2011 11:43 am

        Sorry, Mr. Grier! I should have spell-checked! I know it’s Rosey.

        Regards,
        Steve

  6. Steven Weiner permalink
    December 24, 2010 4:10 pm

    A trilogy of short Rosey Grier stories…..

    1. Remember that Coach Don Schaffer was also physics teacher Schaffer and the classroom demontsration went something like this… He evacuates two halves of a sphere and challenges the strongest guys in the class to pull them apart with the admonition that “Even ROSEY GRIER couldn’t do this!”

    2. Fast forward to the early summer of 1963. I often played or watched early evening basketball at Simpson Field. ROSEY GRIER often showed up for those early evening workouts (arriving in his pink Cadillac..or was it yellow?) to get in shape for training camp. But this one summer evening we weren’t sure he would show up. Weight had been a big problem and the Giants had been giving him a hard time. But on this night, he was traded to the Rams. Would he show up? Indeed he did and he was the happiest guy on the earth! There was no budging ROSEY GRIER out of the post!

    3. Fast forward again to the late 60s. I am in graduate school at Yale and I’m out on a date. I should have known better….we were walking on campus and came across a dead bird for which she insisted that we find a box, put the bird in it and place it through the fence of the local cemetery at the end of York Street. For some unknown and inexplicable reason, I mentioned the name ROSEY GRIER in conversation….and she turns and says, “Who’s she?” That was our last date.

    The truth above as I best remember it! To everyone, the best of everything in 2011.

    Steve Weiner, ACHS ’61

  7. David Kennedy permalink
    December 23, 2010 5:59 pm

    Henry really enjoyed your story. My family lived on East Fourth (between the St. Joes Rectory and Convent. The St, Joes Basketball court was in my backyard. I enjoyed watching players Charlie mentioned who played there often. I would add Jay Fitzpatrick as I thnk he was on the 1961 team.

    My brother in law was on the Rams football team with Rosie Grier.

    My other brother in law Bill Melofchik was a member of the ACHS 1961 class.

    The early sixties was great time for Roselle basketball. My school Roselle Catholic had a great team in 1963 with Radecki, Dittman, Dennis Melofchik, Bob Dempsey and Larry Mathews. There was also Bob Costello whose brother Tommy was on the
    RAMS 1959 team.

    I was 10 in 1960

  8. Arlene Williams Seppelt permalink
    December 23, 2010 9:14 am

    Hi Henry,
    It was so great reading your article. It brought back so many wonderful memories of ACHS and the Class of 1961. I would like to add a bit of humor to your article. Randy Seppelt and I have been married 45 years and we still tell the story of the 1960 Thanksgiving football game against Roselle Park (our forever rivals). Randy, being one of the bigger players, was a tackle. Early in the 4th quarter, Sylvester Land tackled the Roselle Park quarterback who fumbled the football. Randy picked it up and ran (as fast as a tackle could run!!)25 yards to make the last tounchdown of the game (26-0). He was given the game ball signed by all the athletes and coaches and to this day it remains on his dresser. I was showing my grandson Erik (aged 9) his grandfather’s prized football which by now had reached the petrified stage. My grandson said “that’s not a real football, it’s wood!” We are in the planning stages of our 50th year class reunion. Look for info to be coming.

  9. December 11, 2010 7:06 pm

    Hank, thanks for writing up our Thanksgiving experience in Roselle. Very cool that several ACHS alumni, classmates of yours responded.

    But any mention of Simpson Field without mention of Al Pogue misses a key ingredient. I remember the first football game after we moved to Roselle. Between 7 and 8 am on a September Saturday morning, preparations for the game were underway. I don’t think we really knew what was happening, at least I didn’t at age 9. Fred and I went over there to see what the commotion was. We watched intently as yard lines were being put down on the field with lime powder. Before you know it, Al Pogue, was enlisting our help, asking us to stretch out the string so he could lay down the powder on top of it. For our efforts we got into the game for free, and subsequent games for which we helped lay down the lines.

    Al was even more maticulous in caring for the two red-clay public courts and laying down its lines than he was in marking yard markers on the football field. Of course that was because he was a perfectionist as a tennis player on those courts with smooth strokes, serves and net play. Those courts became home for the Roselle Tennis Club, whose integrated team played in a mostly African-American league.

    I’d sit and watch the players for hours and when given a chance tried to immitate their strokes. But I learned more than tennis at the Simpson field courts. The time was the sixties and most of the players, including Al, Ozzie Beard, and our dad Archie Cole were members of the Roselle NAACP. As the civil rights movement heated up, so did the conversations courtside.

    Al Pogue, was a perfectionist in everything he did, even sweeping the floors of Roselle High. He tinkered at inventions until he got them just right, like a “learning” footbal tee endorsed by Rosie Greer. But when he trained his eye and steady hand on painting, the results were astounding. I’ll never forget his paintings, like the one, where you could see the fine hairs of an infant in her mother’s arms. Al went on to become an art teacher at a New Jersey community college, until his life was cut short at 45.

    Commentator’s often lament that today’s African-American youth often lack positive Black male role models. In Roselle in the late fifties through the mid sixties, as a white youth, I had several. My favorite, was Al Pogue.

  10. Charlie Grob permalink
    December 6, 2010 4:08 pm

    Hank,
    had to explore a while…but was able to find and dust off an old scrapbook. On the front page of the sports section of the Star Ledger was a huge headline: 45 to 43 GROB OVER ST. MARY’S. That game was my best ever. I scored 29points, including the last two on an
    allie-oop dunk shot pass from Ed Lietz. My college basketball career went rapidly down hill, and left alot to be desired. Kinda scary now to relive that “Moment in Time” some fifty years ago!

    • Henry S. Cole, Ph.D. permalink*
      December 6, 2010 5:11 pm

      Thanks Charlie, as you said, my memory is a bit fuzzy (after nearly 50 years, can you believe); so thanks for the corrections. Cheers.

  11. Charlie Grob permalink
    December 2, 2010 5:29 pm

    Hank, enjoyed your Thanksgiving essay! While you state,up-front, that your memory often fails you, I offer to help you out. The ’61 Rams “round-ballers” won the Watchung Conference, the Union County Conference, and it’s first ever State Championship… A record that may be tied, but will never be broken. The State Champs from Roselle were undefeated for 26 games, and that couldn’t have been accomplished without stellar play from: Butch Chrebet, Stan Kokie, Ed Lietz (may he rest in peace) Larry Boresen, Tim Green, Fred Porter, “Ackie” Boss, Walt Babich, Don Walker,and Richard McCarthy. Additionally, the on-court practice sessions with “His Majesty” George Sliwiak, played a significant role in this “once in a lifetime experence!”

    • Henry S. Cole, Ph.D. permalink*
      December 2, 2010 7:10 pm

      How wonderful to get this comment from Ram Basketball Center Charlie Grob. Charlie was one of the big reasons why Roselle was 26-0 and swept all of the championship in 1961 – our senior year. By the way this included beating Roselle Park which in those years featured NBA superstar Rick Barry! (As I recalled Roselle Park’s home court was actually their auditorium stage–but the Ram’s stole the show).

      Charlie, may correct my memory again; but the most thrilling game was against St. Mary’s in the Union County championship (1961). This pitted two of Union County’s greatest teams ever and two of the greatest coaches; Ralph Arminio (Roselle) and the legendary Al Labalbo (St. Mary’s). Labalbo’s strategy — hold the ball, hold the score down, and play great defense. This did well against Roselle’s fast breaks and ball movement — but not well enough to beat the Rams. Very late in the game the score was tied in the low 20’s (hard to believe). And who else but Charlie Grob, under the immense pressure of the moment, banked a jumper off the glass in the game’s final seconds. Charlie, this was one of the happiest moments in my life.

  12. chuck hampton permalink
    November 29, 2010 9:06 pm

    Excellent! Thanks for sharing

  13. Laura permalink
    November 29, 2010 9:02 pm

    I am so thankful for all the wonderful people I have met throughout my life.
    Thankyou Henry Cole, you are one of them.

  14. Dorene Frey Sefack permalink
    November 29, 2010 10:01 am

    Hi Henry,

    We lived around the corner from you on West Ninth–two houses from the Abraham Clark House that was on the corner .

    I too could hear all the hoopla associated with the football games and Dad and I tried to make them all–thanks for bringing back some good memories.

    You failed to mention Jerry McDonnell who was quite athletic and lived on the opposite corner of the Clark house, as a recall he played football, basketball, and baseball.

    I am glad to see the success you have made of yourself–good for you!!

    My husband and I will celebrate 50 years of marriage in 2012. We are retired and living in Osprey, Fl–our big achievement.

    Dorene Frey Sefack

    • Henry S. Cole, Ph.D. permalink*
      November 29, 2010 11:24 am

      Jerry was indeed a great athlete; as I remember his high school career was cut short by a football injury, but my memory fades. Other greats were Stan Fink, Don Walker, Jimmy Argyros, Willy Nichols, Joe Yopcavage, and who could ever forget Al DePalma (the great doo-wap singer who always had a clever retort). And how about the Ram Grid Iron coaches:
      Donald Schaffer, Verge Bork, and Harry Morson.

  15. November 29, 2010 8:32 am

    I continue to value your writing. Thanksgiving over a 50 year respective was worth reading. I am not quite as pessimistic though as you. But, I’ll split the difference.

  16. Bonnie Thompson ('63) permalink
    November 28, 2010 9:40 pm

    Thanks for the memories of Simpson Field (I must have bought a hot dog from your mom at some point), and Rosie Grier. I remember my father coming home from work one day so happy that he had sat next to Rosie on the bus that morning. Some of my happiest times were spent in Roselle. Happy Holidays!

  17. Richie DiSanto permalink
    November 28, 2010 8:43 pm

    Hi, Doc! Wow, time has certainly flown by. Just 2 months ago my daughter found my ACHS yearbook which has been missing-in-action for years due to a gazillion moves, both in and out of the U.S. (thanks, Navy). But I can’t tell you how good it felt just looking over the photos of friends who will never be forgotten (yours was one of those photos). Good hearing you’re doing well. Take care, Richie D.

  18. November 28, 2010 7:48 pm

    Thanks for sharing a part of you! I enjoy reading your blog. Enjoy the holiday season with your wonderful family. Much love…Cathy

  19. November 28, 2010 7:12 pm

    Hi Hank,

    enjoyed your Thanksgiving essay very much…spent Thanksgiving this year in Phoenix, a different sort of day–in the desert, but cool and lovely and a wonderful time of three generations cooking a delicious feast!
    Happy Holidays to you and your family,
    Sharon

  20. Jeanette Malinow permalink
    November 28, 2010 7:11 pm

    As a “Booster” mom, you may remember that between 6 a.m. and noon, I ran home from Simpson Field every hour or so to baste our turkey–between selling hot dogs and soft drinks. (We had to raise money for our team!) You mayl also remember the night before Thanksgiving when the whole family gathered in the kitchen to prepare the stuffing, desserts, and assorted vegetables for our feast. For all these memories and the new ones we as a family are newly establishing, we remain thankful. Jeanette (Mom to you, Hank).

  21. November 28, 2010 7:09 pm

    Your writing continues to touch my heart and soul. I may not always agree with your point of view, but your passion and evocative writing always makes me want to read and think more. Kudos on another exquisite piece. I am your fan!!!

  22. Carol Siegel Brookmeyer permalink
    November 28, 2010 5:39 pm

    Hi Hank,

    Great to read your Thanksgiving thoughts and relive a little Roselle/ACHS nostalgia. I haven’t been back there in about 25 years, preferring to keep Roselle in my mind the way I remember it in the 50’s and 60’s.

    Wishing you and your family a happy holiday season.

    Carol Siegel Brookmeyer ’61

Trackbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Back By Popular Demand « Ekos²

Leave a Reply

